Our 2020 concert performed as – hopefully – the first of a long series will be continued by the next edition this year: On the day after the Opening Concert, Budafok Dohnányi Orchestra will visit Szerencs, where they will give an open-air summer concert in the courtyard of the atmospheric Rákóczi Castle. This year, the festival’s resident orchestra will treat classical music lovers to one work by each of the two perhaps best-known composers of Baroque and Viennese Classicism.

The concert will open with Mozart’s Divertimento in F major. The word divertimento means: entertaining music. Compared to his first two divertimentos, by the time he wrote this, the young composer had developed a distinctly individual style, skilfully combining what he had learned from the Italian composers and the two Haydns.

Vivaldi’s Four Seasons probably needs no introduction: considered to be the first programme music in music literature, it takes us through the seasons with the help of mood-depicting elements. The violin solo of the piece will be played by the concertmaster of the orchestra and of this concert, Gábor Berán.



Concertmaster: Gábor Berán


Mozart: Divertimento in F Major

Vivaldi: The Four Seasons

2021-08-14 - 20:00
Szerencs, Rákóczi-vár - Szerencs, Huszárvár u., 3900
Add to the calendar