This evening, our principal guest conductor Guido Mancusi will lead the orchestra.

The first piece to be performed is Hindemith’s Konzertmusik (op. 50), a two-movement work written for the 50th anniversary of the Boston Symphony Orchestra. It was premièred in 1931 by the orchestra.

The next work is one of Mozart‘s best-known piano concertos, Piano Concerto in C minor, which he began writing in 1785 and which was premièred a year later. It is one of Mozart’s most passionate, dark-toned concertos, considered to be the most perfect of his works in terms of both orchestration and musicality. The piano soloist this evening is Mitra Kotte, who is a young musician, in her early twenties.

The third work of the evening is Mendelssohn’s Italian Symphony, inspired by the composer’s travels in Italy. The symphony was written in 1833 in response to an invitation to conduct from the Royal Philharmonic Society (London). The work was premièred that same year with Mendelssohn conducting, but he revised it a year later, and the score was not published until much later, after the composer’s death.


Mitra Kotte – piano

Conducted by: Guido Mancusi


Hindemith: Konzertmusik Op. 50.
Mozart: Piano Concerto in C minor KV491
Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 4 (“Italian”)

2022-05-20 - 19:00
Klauzál Ház - Budapest, Nagytétényi út 31-33, 1222
Add to the calendar